string(9) "2020-2020" Awards Circuit

best drama series

Weekly Commentary Last Updated:
Sun Mar 8 at 10:46 PM

Powered by

HBO's "Game of Thrones" leads nominations with 32, the most for any program in a single season, beating the record set by "NYPD Blue." It's totaled 161 nominations in its eight-season run. Despite a tie (Clayton hates ties), the lineup was dynamic featuring five newcomers to the category ("Bodyguard," "Killing Eve," "Ozark," "Pose," and "Succession"). HBO led overall nominations for platforms with 137 in total. Looking at this as a whole, this looks to be the equivalency of 2003's "The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King" at the Academy Awards. It could be not a matter how will "Game of Thrones" win, but HOW MANY will it win?

The Emmys have been announced. Click here to view.

Clayton's Weekly Emmys Predictions